Posted by: VoiceinRecovery | September 28, 2010

Thank You to Support Teams

I received this email yesterday from my mom:

I obviously read your blog and once again I am so proud of the honesty and vulnerability in your writing. You are amazing and your journey is inspiring to so many people who share similar struggles. Never be afraid to share, as it is so relieving for someone else who is afraid of being honest. It is ok and everyone who supports you and loves you will always continue to do so. That can be a comfort for those who follow you. I am proud to be one of those who wants to listen and read your words, and I cannot express how proud I am as a Mom to watch you reach out to help someone else. Keep writing, I have always loved to read what you write.

Love you, Mom

These words are extremely important to me in my recovery. I have come a very far way, and while I recognize my own personal development and growth, these words from my mom mean the world. I have put my parents through more than words can express, not only within my behaviors, but through recovery as well. Their support was crucial to my success in life and recovery.

I wanted to share this with parents especially. I know how hard it is at times, to watch your child struggle, to be frustrated, and to lose hope at times. I also know how hard it is as the person in the struggle to know exactly what we put our parents (or support network) through. I am able to see all of this now. I could NEVER have seen this in the disorder. I was too lost, and self involved to see the consequences of my behavior on others. There were other times where I was aware of it, but my needs in the moment were greater. I wanted short term relief and could only see in the moment, all consequences were delayed. As I often say, instant gratification vs. delayed consequences.

I wanted to share my moms words because I often ask what helps keep people motivated or inspired in recovery and life. These are the words that fuel the fire. I was always accepted and seen as a person, not a disorder, by my mom. She may not have understood, been angry, sad, frustrated, but she never gave up on me. I would not be alive had my parents not put there foot down and said I was going into residential. I am not discounting my own part in my recovery; obviously I was the one who chose recovery, chose to fight, and chose to stop the insanity. I am saying that recovery is very much a team effort, full of therapists, friends, nutritionists, psychiatrists, moms, dads, sisters, brothers, mentors, sponsors, and many others. I think support in recovery is so important. I am grateful for all the support I received from my parents, because they were a key part of the puzzle of my recovery.

I just wanted to take this as my chance to thank my mom and dad, because in my recovery, speaking my thankfuls keeps me focused, accountable, motivated, and inspired.

I know many people may feel they don’t have support, don’t have an understanding team, friends, family, etc. I want to make a plea to give these people who are trying a chance. I know there are people who are toxic for your recovery, and I honestly support healthy boundaries with those who are harmful. But if you have a team, that is trying, even if they don’t understand, they are with you fighting as well.

I am grateful for all parents, friends, therapists, nutritionists, advocates, etc. who spend their time helping another who struggles in a disorder, addiction, mental health issue, and continues to love and support those through all the ups and downs along the journey. While self acceptance is a process, it helps to have others as cheerleaders who sees who we are, loves us, and believes we can do it.


Responses

  1. Beautiful….just amazingly beautiful post.

    Support is huge and you’re very lucky to have amazing people around you (and especially your Mom!).

    The last sentence in your post really struck me:

    “While self acceptance is a process, it helps to have others as cheerleaders who sees who we are, loves us, and believes we can do it.”

    Very well said.

    Even with my clients (though they are not dealing with an eating disorder, yet have an unhealthy relationship with food) — so much of their success in working with me and that I do see, love and believe they can do it. That type of support is priceless. And seeing them become healthier, inside and out, fuels my passion to do the work that I do.

    Thanks for continuing to share you personal stories, and this beautiful post!

    • Thank you so much Dinneen! I love your work and find a lot of people struggle with unhealthy relationships with food. I think overall in life, having support for all struggles helps make the difference in success. I know that as a mentor, just saying “I hear you” is so important. We may not understand a persons individual struggle, but we can provide empathy, love, and a belief in them and hope in the journey. Thank you so much for being a part of this wonderful community of supporting health in peoples lives!

  2. This is such a beautiful post.

    I am very fortunate to have a small group of people who I feel like I can be completely open with, who I know will support me no matter what. Thanks to this post, I’m going to take the time to express my gratitude to them today.

    • I am so glad you have a gorup of people who support you! I find those people are like our chosen family! So glad this post inspired you to express gratitude to them! I know I personally have had moments of taking for granted, and in recovery and along this journey, have made it a priority to express my appreciation. 🙂

  3. Thanks. I have tears of pride. Mom

  4. I love this blog!!! and I love you 🙂 Thank YOU for being part of my support team. ❤

    • I LOVE YOU!!! Thank you as always for being a wonderful friend!

  5. Beautifully said! I am so fortunate to have such amazing ppl on my support team. I can never thank them enough. I’m forwarding this onto my parents to read.

    • I am so glad you are forwarding to your parents. I know how hard they are trying and am glad this inspired you. xoxo

  6. thank you for this. it’s so true. it’s inspiring. there are definitely a lot of people out there who have helped me along the way who deserve a big thank you. One that I never was able to give when i was in the depth of my eating disorder. But one that i can give now.

  7. The post from your mom is beautiful. And your own words in response are insightful (as always) and grateful.

    I don’t really have a support team. I am very very lonely. My eating disorder is not under control. I am not losing weight because I am on a medication that causes bloating and another medication that causes weight gain. But I am eating peculiar foods and only those foods. I want to eat healthfully so badly. I don’t understand why I don’t do it. I have the food in my fridge. I don’t want to harm my body any more than I already have. So I don’t understand my block, my reluctance, my recalcitrant habits.

    But anyway, thank you for sharing something so beautiful and supportive. It is wonderful to read.

  8. Aw this post really made me quite a bit tearful! Thank you for sharing.
    xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

